Bella Vista Inn & Sunset Bay Resort
Call (989) 856-2650


Reviewed by Karen S
Aug 13, 2017

Great Vacation Again!
We have been vacationing in Caseville every summer for 43 years, 20+ years at the Bella Vista/Sunset Bay Resort with family and friends. Growing up I spent every summer at my grandparent's cottage on Lake St. Clair. It was cozy and warm and well lived in without having to be fussy. We used to take our old towels, old dishes, old bedding, and old furniture from home to be repurposed at the cottage and it had a "shabby chic" vibe. These are the same memories that have been created for my children and grandchildren at the Bella Vista. Do they have luxury linens? No, but the towels do the trick and dry us off. Do the sheets have a high thread count? No, but they are comfortable enough for the week. This is not a luxury resort, you are not at the Mackinac Grand Hotel, you are in a quaint little town, just several hours from the Detroit Metro area, spending a week at a beautiful beach. For many years we stayed in Cabin #9 (a two bedroom, open concept full kitchen/living room) on the beach, where the waves lulled us to sleep. For the past 5 years we have stayed in the unit above the office (3 bedrooms - 1 room king bed with attached toilet and sink, 1 room double bed, 1 room 2 double beds) open concept fully stocked kitchen (table for six and snack bar for 4)living room, bathroom with a tub/shower combo, private deck with gas grill and 2 outdoor table and chairs sets. We loved the updates to our unit this year - nautical draperies and decorations and new wood look vinyl floors. We always bring bikes, sand toys, drinking water, 13 x 9 inch pans, decks of cards, and the corn hole game. Phone reception is spotty at best, but we are there to interact, not sit on our phones. We love the beach, the 2 swimming pools, the fire pits, the sunsets, and the friendly staff. If you are looking for luxury and being waited on hand and foot, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for fun, family bonding, and a chance to make memories together you've found it!

Reviewed by Kimberly M
Jul 19, 2017

We spent 2 nights in room 2(poolside). The room was adorably decorated in a nautical theme and was very clean. We found the Bella Vista to be a wonderful place to stay, the staff was friendly and helpful, and I cannot wait until I can return later this summer!! See you soon Hershel !!!

Reviewed by Rebecca C
Jun 11, 2017 

Girl's Weekend, 2017, Year 4

This is our 4th year at Bella Vista. 6 girls in a cottage on Lake Huron with a super nice beach and 2 pools. We love it here!!! We always stay in the same cottage but last year they had a water line break so we stayed in a different cottage. This year they have remodeled all the cottages in a nice nautical style, updating wall coverings, drapes and even added a big under-the-counter microwave. The Cottage we stay in has 2 bedrooms, 1 with 1 double bed and 1 with 2 double beds, living room with couch, loveseat, tv, full kitchen with table/chairs and stoked with everything you would need to make meals and air conditioner units in living room and bedrooms. Also a screened in patio with table/chairs, BBQ grill and fire pit with chairs to sit around the campfire. Absolutely gorgeous sunsets from our cottage!! Herschel is a gracious host and staff is super helpful. Our gal that took care of us was Jenny and she went above and beyond...Thanks Jenny:) See you in 2018!! One more thing, there is a restaurant/bar on site with a deck that you can eat at and watch the sunset while enjoying dinner or drinks:)

Reviewed by JenniS1131
Jun 11, 2017

Wedding fun in a beautiful atmosphere

I had the pleasure of attending a wedding here this weekend. The rooms were adorably beach themed. I was able to check out the chalets too- which are gorgeous. Most of the rooms offer lake-views and the ones that do not are within walking distance of the water and beach. They have bonfire pits to enjoy and it's just a perfect oasis away from the real world. I was so not ready to come back today....Due to the fantastic time we had on this trip we are even looking to make this an annual trip. The staff is super friendly and helpful and this was probably one of the best trips I have ever been on.

*They put on an amazing wedding! The DJ, food and staff were wonderful and made the beautiful event truly perfect! This is a place I would definitely have my wedding at!

-If you are looking for rooms with refrigerators or kitchenettes I know they have these in the chalets! Which are perfect for a group trip! The front office has coffee and breakfast everyday as well!

Reviewed by DetroitBeachbum
Jun 1, 2017

This will be our 12th annual Girl's Weekend
Ok, this hotel is not a Hilton. With that said: It does have a beautiful beach and two pools (the deep one is kept quite cold). When you arrive, tell them to keep the heater on! it's a very relaxing property with BBQs, chairs, picnic tables, great views of the lake, and you can always make friends with fellow guests.

Reviewed by Sherrie M
May 28, 2017

Family Friendly - Beautiful & Charming - Lake Huron Cottages
We have stayed at Bella Vista many times & we love it here!!

Charming, simple, laid back, humble & beautiful!!

It's family friendly with bonfires on the beach, beautifully? decorated room, charming cottages. That up north feel right on the shores Lake Huron and the views are breathtaking. Lots for the kids to do! Plenty of room to roam around to play, 2 pools, big beach areas, & bonfires pits.

A very nice restaurant sits on the property with great food & drinks with the incredible views of Lake Huron. We had the featured drink of the day "The Pink Flamingo"....WOW!! It was the best beach drink I've ever had!! Definitely felt like we were drinking the Caribbean Island it's self AMAZING!!!

The staff is always very polite, helpful, & professional. While it may not be a 5 star hotel it IS a 5 star Up North Charming Cottage Resort & family owned & operated!!! We will be returning for many more visits this year & many years to come!!

Pure Michigan at its finest!! Thank you for having us Hershel!!!

Reviewed by Egypt-Is F
Feb 23, 2017

Amazing Vacation
I have stayed here 8 times. Bella Vista is great and nice hotel! it was a beautiful vacation. I'm coming back!
Very cuddly and family. Very nice people who take care of everything
Good food, Very good room service. Animation always for a fun to have and very mitrisent in its actions.
Great hotel, animators were super nice and friendly, food was delicious and there was plenty of choice. Weather has also fit in this season.

Reviewed by BluHero90
Apr 20, 2017

Spring Getaway
My family and I love to travel. We've traveled all around Michigan and have stayed at many many sorts of different places, including some islands and all over the UP. So I've had many different experiences with hotels and their ins and outs. I must say that this small yet beautiful Resort located right on the beach of Lake Huron nears the top of our favorite list. It is located right outside the cute little town of Caseville, MI, a small yet busy little town with lots of activities in the summertime. Cons of the Resort, it could use some updates. But they have remodeled a good majority of the rooms between last year and this year. They have gone Nautical themed and I think it was a good change they needed. The staff is always super friendly and I have been very pleased with my service every year I've gone. There is a bar and lounge, which is always a plus in my book and I love the fact that there is a private beach right on Lake Huron. There are also 2 out door pools so you get the option of the pool or the lake. I'm thinking of going back for Cheeseburger festival this year. It's a good time

Reviewed by Sydney F
May 26, 2017

Wonderful stay
A family member got married here and it was a great time. One of the better places in the area to get married! Everything was done beautifully and the staff was very kind and helpful. My favorite part was the breath taking view from the private beach of the sunrise and sunsets to start and end the days. They must have recently updated the rooms which have cute nautical themes. The food from the restaurant was tasty and the dj brought fun, good vibes. Would definitely recommend!

Reviewed by supermom2017
Jan 15, 2017

Amazing Vacation & Peaceful location
The views at this resort are absolutely stunning! The rooms and suites have been remodeled and are very comfortable. clean and peaceful. The beach on lake Huron is beautiful soft sand, with warm, clear water. Hotel staff are very accomodating and pleasant. Definitely a wonderful place for a vacation. Great for kids as water is shallow, warm and safe.

Thank you for your kind words.We look forward to seeing you again!

For reservations please call: (989) 856-2650